Blade Itself (The First Law, #1), The

Abercrombie, Joe
2006

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-02-05
I had no idea what to expect going into this series All I read was that it was very good and very dark and were they ever right. This book is extremely violent to say the least. It mostly serves as an introduction to all of the main characters and getting them setup for the tasks to come. I love how not a single person here is cliche (Jezal is the closest), and none of them can be considered "good".

All in all, a very exciting read, and I'm looking forward to the rest of the trilogy.
Reviewed: 2019-01-12
to-read
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
I am so disappointed. I'm not done with this story, even by a little, but the book is done! This is very definitely just the first book. It sets the stage for at least a sequel, or probably a trilogy, but is maybe a longer series.
The beginning was not slow to me but all the story did was gain momentum and speed with every new page. I liked most of the characters, the way they thought, the quirky dialog, etc., though I wish "I do indeed" hadn't featured as often nor from as many sources.
Read this book. I look forward to reading the next one.
Reviewed: 2018-09-28
Well it should come as no surprise to anyone if you have seen my latest updates that I did not love this book. Quite unfortunate really (as I LOVED Half a King) and honestly I think entirely “it’s me, not you” on this one. As far as my final rating, I struggled with where to take this so I just decided to break it down…

Writing – 4.5 stars

When your good, your good…and Joe is just that. He has a magical way of writing amazingly witty characters and creating a world that is breathtaking. And this one has its fair share of bloody savagery that is just awesome.

Characters – 5 stars

Joe does an equally brilliant job creating characters we love…including ones we love to hate. Logen, Glokta and Bayaz were standouts, but honestly there was not a one that I could say I did not enjoy. Contrary to my further statements below, I felt I was missing out on some things that I wish had been included, including more from Ferro and Ardee. However…point #3…

Number of Characters and POV – 3 stars

Bloody hell…there were far too many IMO and far too many points of view. I would have been happy with Logen, Glokta and Jezal only and seen these other fantastic characters come together through their eyes only.

Plot – 1 star

Essentially nothing happened in this book until the last bloody damn 150 pages and by then I was so over it. I mean, Loki is a brilliant character, and I could look at Tom Hiddleston all day, but if Loki just staggered around town for weeks and essentially did nothing, I too would get bored.



Length – 1 star

First let me say that if it was not for Joe Abercrombie and the characters of this book, I would have put this on the DNF shelf around 50%. Unless you are writing about a wizard with glasses and a scar on his forehead, no one needs a 600 page book!!! (Especially given the lack of plot.) Drop 200 pages of this, and I really think I could have given this far more praise.

The ending – 4 stars

Yes, the ending clearly improved with several amazing scenes (yet still no real plot that I could see). Eventually I will find myself picking up the sequel to this, but I cannot forget the 450 plus pages it took to get there.

So I leave this one with 3 stars.
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
Abercrombie versammelt eine Runde an klassischen Fantasy-Charakteren: Logen, einen Barbaren; Jezal, einen Soldaten; Bayaz, einen Magier; Glokta, einen... verkrüppelten Inquisitor?

Nun gut, nicht alles ist standard. Vor allem nicht das Setting, das durchaus in unserer Zukunft spielen sollte, halt mit Magie und nur verschütteten Resten unserer Zivilisation.

Krieg und Liebe gibt es immer noch. Und Intrigen und Mord und... eine spannende Geschichte, aus mehreren Gesichtspunkten erzählt.
Reviewed: 2016-12-15
Wonderful. Don't know how I missed this series for the past six years. Some really great writing in here, not just as fantasy, but as actual literature. That the most fascinating character is so utterly repulsive - a cynical world-weary torturer - just makes it all the better. The magic element in this is understated and, therefore, quite believable. Unlike most fantasy, this book doesn't portray the status-quo as either right or supportable, but as something horribly wrong and debased which needs to change.
Item Posts
@bas
@bas completed #bladeitselffirst... on 2019-06-02
@sammieb
@sammieb completed #bladeitselffirst... on 2015-06-27
@sammieb
@sammieb began #bladeitselffirst... on 2015-05-28
@caine
@caine completed #bladeitselfthe... on 2009-01-01