Summer Knight:The Dresden Files

Jim Butcher
Private detective/wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden is suckered into tangling in the affairs of Faerie, where the fate of the entire world-and his soul-are at stake.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-02-05
This book is all about the Fae, arguably the most dangerous creatures in the Dresden universe. Dresden gets into more trouble with these guys than any other. Here, he is hired to investigate the death of the Summer Knight, the "bodyguard" of the Summer Lady. A very intertaining read overall. And who doesn't love Toot Toot?
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
I had a completed review but Goodreads reloaded, destroying it utterly...
Let's re-gather the idea. These books are slated for my "Enjoyable Garbage" shelf. They probably stand alone, though the story does continue to develop from book to book.
Harry continues to be showcased as a sort of underdog, as he takes one step forward for every two he retreats.
This book is fun, fast fluff. Enjoy!
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
http://www.weberseite.at/buecher/summer-knight-the-dresden-files-4/
Reviewed: 2016-08-08

Book 4 in the series finds Harry a year after Grave Peril, still mourning his losses, and the Council in a war the Vampires. The conflict he started, and the new reason the Council is looking to fry him. It seems to a cycle from all the previous books, but this time, the Council is far from the biggest source of impending doom. The Summer and Winter Fae are about to bring on Armageddon, and Harry has been hired as the Winter Emissary to try and solve the murder of the Summer Knight that is starting it all. Oh yeah, he has to do this all while avoiding vampire assassins, and garnering approval for the Council to use the Nevermore.

Jim Butcher keeps cycling in new characters to match Harry’s ever growing powers, and using them to reveal more and more of his past. The basic group seems to be in place for the rest of the series, and I look forward to seeing where they end up next. While the basic plot points seem to match from book to book, Butcher’s characters are always new and exciting. I hope to speed through the rest of the series to see where we end up at next.

I couldn’t help but think that I was watching an episode of Lost Girl while reading the book. The Division between the Summer and Winter, matched the television shows Light and Dark side conflicts. This didn’t take anything away from the book, or the television show, since the book came first, but I would recommend this one for anyone that loved the show.

Rate it 4.5 out of 5.

 

I wouldn’t recommend it as a kicking off point for the series. There are too many references to the previous books, but I would rate it second to Fool Moon as my favorite so far. Death Masks is next on my TBR list, and should be finished within the week, so we can see where Harry ends up next. 

Reviewed: 2016-06-16
4
Reviewed: 2016-05-29
Books just keep getting better
Item Posts
@amuhs
@amuhs completed #summerknightthed... on 2020-03-27
@amuhs
@amuhs began #summerknightthed... on 2020-03-21