Summer Knight:The Dresden Files

Jim Butcher
Private detective/wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden is suckered into tangling in the affairs of Faerie, where the fate of the entire world-and his soul-are at stake.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
I had a completed review but Goodreads reloaded, destroying it utterly...
Let's re-gather the idea. These books are slated for my "Enjoyable Garbage" shelf. They probably stand alone, though the story does continue to develop from book to book.
Harry continues to be showcased as a sort of underdog, as he takes one step forward for every two he retreats.
This book is fun, fast fluff. Enjoy!
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
http://www.weberseite.at/buecher/summer-knight-the-dresden-files-4/
Reviewed: 2016-08-08

Book 4 in the series finds Harry a year after Grave Peril, still mourning his losses, and the Council in a war the Vampires. The conflict he started, and the new reason the Council is looking to fry him. It seems to a cycle from all the previous books, but this time, the Council is far from the biggest source of impending doom. The Summer and Winter Fae are about to bring on Armageddon, and Harry has been hired as the Winter Emissary to try and solve the murder of the Summer Knight that is starting it all. Oh yeah, he has to do this all while avoiding vampire assassins, and garnering approval for the Council to use the Nevermore.

Jim Butcher keeps cycling in new characters to match Harry’s ever growing powers, and using them to reveal more and more of his past. The basic group seems to be in place for the rest of the series, and I look forward to seeing where they end up next. While the basic plot points seem to match from book to book, Butcher’s characters are always new and exciting. I hope to speed through the rest of the series to see where we end up at next.

I couldn’t help but think that I was watching an episode of Lost Girl while reading the book. The Division between the Summer and Winter, matched the television shows Light and Dark side conflicts. This didn’t take anything away from the book, or the television show, since the book came first, but I would recommend this one for anyone that loved the show.

Rate it 4.5 out of 5.

 

I wouldn’t recommend it as a kicking off point for the series. There are too many references to the previous books, but I would rate it second to Fool Moon as my favorite so far. Death Masks is next on my TBR list, and should be finished within the week, so we can see where Harry ends up next. 

Reviewed: 2016-06-24
4.5 Stars

I don't like fairies/faeries/fae. I just wanna get that out there up front. I think they are boring and oh-so-scurry with all their dancing and laughing and pipe-playing blah-de-blah. The current trend where fairies/faeries/fae are all the rage and everyone is trying to "re-think" them? Not my thing. Pass. I'm good on that.

Now I know that maybe lots of people will probably rush to defend the fairies/faeries/fae and say "They aren't all like that! Read [book] -- the fairies/faeries/fae in that one are AWESOME!" so let me clarify more.

I think one of the things that makes all of the fairies/faeries/fae stories that I've read so mind-numbing to me is all of the tedious description of the eternal merrymaking. Too much of anything is a bad thing. Too much merrymaking for a mortal who is forced into it is bad... and too much of making me read about it is also bad... *cough* Susanna Clarke. (But in all fairness, I'm not big on those kinds of descriptions anyway. I don't like reading through descriptions of parties, or fairs, or carnivals or festivals or anything like that in ANY book. The more variety the author tries to show to let me know how great a time the merrymakers are having, the more bored I get.)

The magic is another thing. I like rules to my magic. I like to understand the basis of the power that fairies/faeries/fae have, and how it works. What its limitations are. Too often in the fairies/faeries/fae stories I've read, there's none of this. It's just whatever imagination can conjure and that's that. Blah.

And for the love of Pete, no long walks in the woods (Ash). "Oh, look the magical woods are magical! Ooooh!" BO-RING. Nothing but filler and Ambien to me.

All that being said, Jim Butcher's faeries are ones that I can appreciate. They actually are dangerous and tricksy and alluring and... most of all, they are actually interesting. Butcher kept the dancing and whatnot to the barest minimum. He showed that's one of the reasons fae are dangerous, but didn't feel like he had to describe every single detail of the party. The magic had understandable parameters and rules, and there was not one single long walk in the woods. A+ Jim Butcher. You rule. :D

Plus, for extra credit, Jim threw in the CUTEST teensy faerie troops, with ranks like Caption and Star Jump and Loo Tender. A++dorable. :D

Moving on... I really enjoyed this book in the series. There was a lot of fae/Nevernever/Red Court politics, and I didn't really follow completely, but there was quite a lot jammed into this book to enjoy. I loved the brokenness of this book, and how just going on when we're hurting allows us to keep going on to help heal the hurt. There was a lot of, I dunno, philosophical wisdom that just felt so obvious coming from Harry, but is true nonetheless. I love when an author can make the important stuff come out in a realistic way, without feeling holier than thou or stuffy.

Can't wait to read the next in the series.
Reviewed: 2016-06-16
4
Reviewed: 2016-06-05
Harry Dresden becomes embroiled in the world of faerie and faerie politics. This isn't good, for anyone involved.

Harry is busy keeping himself alive, some of the decisions he's making are very complicated.

Interesting and involved Harry is quite an interesting character and I look forward to reading more in this series.
Reviewed: 2016-05-29
Books just keep getting better
Item Posts
@tarod45
@tarod45 completed #summerknightthed... on 2013-11-15
@eva13
@eva13 completed #summerknightthed... on 2012-10-21
@eva13
@eva13 began #summerknightthed... on 2012-10-17