Road, The

Cormac McCarthy
NATIONAL BESTSELLERPULITZER PRIZE WINNER National Book Critic's Circle Award FinalistA New York Times Notable BookOne of the Best Books of the YearThe Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Denver Post, The Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, New York, People, Rocky Mountain News, Time, The Village Voice, The Washington PostThe searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy's masterpiece.A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other.The Road is the profoundly moving story of a journey. It boldly imagines a future in which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son, "each the other's world entire," are sustained by love. Awesome in the totality of its vision, it is an unflinching meditation on the worst and the best that we are capable of: ultimate destructiveness, desperate tenacity, and the tenderness that keeps two people alive in the face of total devastation.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2016-12-28

Wonderfully crafted and very creepy. Brilliant distopian fiction story

Reviewed: 2016-08-11

Beautifully written- almost poetic like- but it drags so much. 

Reviewed: 2016-06-24
8/6 -- OK... I finished this last night, and am still pondering it. I had an idea about this book before I started, although I tried not to bias my own opinion before I even started the book by reading the opinions of others. This book caught me off-guard.

I enjoyed the book as a whole. After the first few pages I was sucked in and lost in this gray existence, which is exactly what it is... existence, and barely that. After the first few pages, I had trouble finding a place to stop for the night and remember thinking that it was oddly fitting that I should have such a problem.

My boyfriend asked me what the book was about, as I dragged it along with me for the better part of two evenings. (The poor guy didn't see my eyes the entire time.) I found that it was hard to describe to him... I tried to explain it, but he's not much of a reader, so he was disinterested, to say the least.

I finally told him that it is the story of a man trying to ensure the survival of his son, and their journey to find a place where they can live. I tried to convey to him the constant sense of the father almost willing life to appear while at the same time mistrusting it and trying to make sure that his son doesn't lose the hope he holds of finding it.

As far as the writing itself, it seemed to me that it was like a non-stop series of snapshots and memory-clips coming together to make a mosaic that are the characters' lives. No breaks in the story, no rest for the weary.

About 10 pages from the end, I thought that the only glimmer of "the light at the end of the tunnel" would come in the form of a potentially overlooked seedling or something similar... That would have been a decent ending in my mind, but the actual one in the book is better, I think.

All in all, I am glad that I read this one.
Reviewed: 2015-09-10

Este libro es un clásico por una razón simple el cual es de como este libro te hace sentir emociones que no sentirías normalmente. Un sentido de como si estuvieras un mundo acabado, oscuro, tétrico y perturbador en el cual sigues vivo simplemente por un caso de suerte; (¿O es suerte?) en el que sigues vivo por el simple sentido de querer proteger a tu persona amada, que es un barco de tus viejas memorias (ja).

I can only call this book depressively brilliant. McCarthy is as bleak as always, but this is one of the most moving father-son relationships I have ever seen. I had to hug my father after I finished it.
Item Posts
@taylorabranson
@taylorabranson completed #roadthe... on 2011-07-14
@hstewart
@hstewart began #roadthe... on 2015-05-18
@hstewart
@hstewart completed #roadthe... on 2015-05-22
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #roadthe... on 2018-04-23
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #roadthe... on 2018-04-10
@davebos
@davebos completed #roadthe... on 2017-01-15
@dia309
@dia309 completed #roadthe... on 2016-09-04
@dia309
@dia309 began #roadthe... on 2016-09-01
@tmonbetsu
@tmonbetsu completed #roadoprahsbookcl... on 2011-09-02
@tmonbetsu
@tmonbetsu began #roadoprahsbookcl... on 2011-09-01
@scurlin
@scurlin completed #roadoprahsbookcl... on 2015-06-17
@scurlin
@scurlin began #roadoprahsbookcl... on 2015-06-16