Crazy Rich Asians

Kevin Kwan
When New Yorker Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home and quality time with the man she hopes to marry. But Nick has failed to give his girlfriend a few key details. One, that his childhood home looks like a palace; two, that he grew up riding in more private planes than cars; and three, that he just happens to be the country’s most eligible bachelor.   On Nick’s arm, Rachel may as well have a target on her back the second she steps off the plane, and soon, her relaxed vacation turns into an obstacle course of old money, new money, nosy relatives, and scheming social climbers.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-01-04
I read this book because I wanted to read it before seeing the movie and NEITHER OF THEM DISAPPOINTED. BOTH OF THEM WERE SO GOOD. This is definitely a world I know NOTHING about and it really fully immerses you in it. I liked the story-telling style in that you jump around and hear about what is happening from multiple angles. There are things I like from the movie better than the book and vice versa, but one of the biggest was that i feel like some of the side characters got a bigger spotlight in the movie and really came alive with that kind of portrayal. I think Astrid is my fave character in the whole thing though. She's amazing and GETS THOSE Z SNAP MOMENTS IN. I love her. If you haven't read this and you liked the movie you should def check it out!
Reviewed: 2019-09-23
Such a fun read... the cast of characters was long for this one and the writing incredibly descriptive so took a bit for me to get into things at first. Lots of backstabbing, gossip and mean girls. I loved the descriptiveness if the different foods and could totally visualize the scenery. I liked how each of the main characters had their own story line. I think Astrid and Michael were my favorite. The title was absolutely fitting for this one. Looking forward the the next book in the series so I can see what happens with Rachel and Nick and Astrid and Michael. Great summer read!
Reviewed: 2019-06-20
I enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would when it first came out. As with other people's reviews, the title put me off the book. But new reviews coming out right before the movie was released made me want to try it. I enjoyed the quirky characters and situations, as well as the commentary on manners and cultures. Don't expect to get resolution at the end of the book though; it sets up the next one in the trilogy.

It's a quick read and I really couldn't put it down until I finished it.
Reviewed: 2019-02-19
Really fun, very quick read. There were some pretty confusing parts, but as you get going, it’s easy to figure it out. The ending was super cute, but this story was crazy.
Reviewed: 2019-01-16
I enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would when it first came out. As with other people's reviews, the title put me off the book. But new reviews coming out right before the movie was released made me want to try it. I enjoyed the quirky characters and situations, as well as the commentary on manners and cultures. Don't expect to get resolution at the end of the book though; it sets up the next one in the trilogy.

It's a quick read and I really couldn't put it down until I finished it.
Reviewed: 2018-10-30

a take on Pride and Prejudice within Asian community.  Very entertaining, the definition of a perfect beach read.

Reviewed: 2018-08-20

A nice, lighthearted, funny romantic comedy. Didn't blow my mind but it was pleasant all the same. Asians just wanna be featured in silly stuff like the rest of us.

Item Posts
@fiqar9925
@fiqar9925 completed #crazyrichasians... on 2019-01-12
@scoobydoo678
@scoobydoo678 completed #crazyrichasians... on 2019-04-20
@chrisquick
@chrisquick began #crazyrichasians... on 2019-01-22
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #crazyrichasiansb... on 2019-02-19
@samosvolunteers
@samosvolunteers completed #crazyrichasians... on 2019-02-19
@samosvolunteers
@samosvolunteers began #crazyrichasians... on 2019-02-05
@slamunyon
@slamunyon completed #crazyrichasians... on 2019-01-29
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #crazyrichasians... on 2019-01-19
@mesince85
@mesince85 completed #crazyrichasians... on 2019-01-13
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #crazyrichasians... on 2019-01-04
@slamunyon
@slamunyon began #crazyrichasians... on 2018-12-30
@jdanz
@jdanz completed #crazyrichasians... on 2018-10-08
@jdanz
@jdanz began #crazyrichasians... on 2018-10-05
@mesince85
@mesince85 began #crazyrichasians... on 2018-11-30
@gmacek
@gmacek began #crazyrichasians... on 2018-05-01