Lord of the Flies

William Golding
Lord of the Flies remains as provocative today as when it was first published in 1954, igniting passionate debate with its startling, brutal portrait of human nature. Though critically acclaimed, it was largely ignored upon its initial publication. Yet soon it became a cult favorite among both students and literary critics who compared it to J.D. Salinger's The Catcher in the Rye in its influence on modern thought and literature. Labeled a parable, an allegory, a myth, a morality tale, a parody, a political treatise, even a vision of the apocalypse, Lord of the Flies has established itself as a true classic.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-11-11

I was first introduced to this book back during my high school career. Of course our English Literature class was focused on reading and interpreting the classic novels. I for one was not impressed by this novel. Too much archaic symbolism for my liking. I didn't like the plot, the forced scenarios, the monstrous way of life the characters choose to live or any of the characters. This was a poor novel in my overall opinion and I am not happy that I was forced to read this as part of my educational curriculum. In short, don't waste your time or money on this. If I could give this zero stars, I would. Plain and simple!

Reviewed: 2020-02-14
A must read classic!
Reviewed: 2020-02-07
The plot is great. But i dont care for the prose. I enjoyed Lois Lowry’s afterword more than the prose.
Reviewed: 2018-10-09
This classic tale of boys gone savage shows an interesting view of our frail and self imposed civility. A group of boys are trapped on a desert island, with little hope of rescue the boys from their own societies with their own rules. The characters own personality flaws become their downfall.
Reviewed: 2016-08-23

PIGGIE!!!!!PIGGIE!!!!! A tale of when society crumbles. Such a good book, one of the top ones ever. And Piggie on a stick.

 

Goods

Reviewed: 2014-05-17

A good classic every time. 

Item Posts
@rottgrl88
@rottgrl88 completed #lordoftheflies... on 2017-02-20
@rottgrl88
@rottgrl88 began #lordoftheflies... on 2017-02-03
@maijeff
@maijeff began #lordoftheflies... on 2011-05-01
@maijeff
@maijeff completed #lordoftheflies... on 2011-05-01
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #lordoftheflies... on 2019-02-12
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann began #lordoftheflies... on 2019-01-30
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #lordoftheflies... on 2014-08-13
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #lordoftheflies... on 2018-10-13
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #lordoftheflies... on 2018-10-10
@rebajw
@rebajw completed #lordoftheflies... on 2018-09-19
@bsorensen96
@bsorensen96 completed #lordoftheflies... on 2010-09-23
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #lordoftheflies... on 2018-06-05
@baix0x
@baix0x began #lordoftheflies... on 2018-05-07
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #lordoftheflies... on 2014-05-23
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #lordoftheflies... on 2014-05-15