Hate U Give, The

Angie Thomas
Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty. Soon to be a major motion picture from Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions.Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-02-26
I enjoyed the book, especially the last part when the riot was going on. I feel like this book's greatest attribute is to introduce why black people have a fear of the police. There is this gapping wound America that lies in the subconscious of both white and black Americans. I really appreciated the idea that the book puts forward that to say one policeman is bad is not attacking every single policeman. In turn the book shows that there are bad people who are black, but not everyone who is black is bad, there communities have people in them just like you other races. Until we as a people recognize how and why the racial divide in America is large, we as a nation will still suffer from that gapping wound. An open mind and understanding is needed from all and I think this book helps lay the groundwork for that.
Reviewed: 2019-01-14
3 stars for the writing/story. 4 stars for what it's trying to do, and how many young adults will read this and hopefully think a little clearer about police brutality.
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
This book was so real and deep that it just pulled you in. It reflected issues happening in the real world and was written very well. The characters and plot were well developed.
Reviewed: 2018-08-17

I was given a copy of this title, free, en exchange for my honest opinion. 

his is another book that talks about a white police officer shooting a black male. But make no mistake, it is also a book that stands out on its own. You have probably already heard of this book, as it came out and took the world by storm. I am not one that ever feels that a book deserves a bunch of hype, but in this case I can understand it. It is good for so many reasons, but it is not a perfect book. (I have yet to find one that is.) 

Starr is at  party in her neighborhood when shots are fired. Her old friend, Khalil is there with her and quickly gets her out and safely away. While heading to her house or her father's store, they are pulled over by a white officer for  a busted headlight. While Starr is mentally reciting the lessons of how to behave when pulled over by the police, it is apparent that Khalil did not receive those lessons.  As the police is making his way to the car, Starr does ask if there is any drugs in the car. What could have simply been a routine stop quickly escalates into a homicide. This is due to both Khalil's mouthiness and the officer's fear/prejudice/choice. 

**With the rising number of shootings, people -black people in particular- have been having conversations with their kids about what to do when you are pulled over by the police? Is it necessary? If you have taught your kids to be respectful of authority then no it's not. Because, regardless of your opinion of the police or your socio-economic circumstance the police are in a position of authority. EVEN IF YOU HAVE DONE NOTHING WRONG. I have been pulled over before and was told that I resembled a suspect that the police were looking for. No I didn't believe them, but I was still respectful. Sometimes, it's not about being right, it's about doing the right thing.**
Starr then struggles with how to reconcile what has happened, with the way the world reacts and how the police handle the situation. It's murder to Starr and every other black person that was not there that night. But the police do not see it as such. This brings up a lot of emotions, one that just didn't make much sense to me. She felt that by being with Chris, she was somehow betraying Khalil. After a year of dating, you're just not realizing that your boyfriend is white and now you think you're betraying your race? In reality, all of these feelings would have come up at the beginning of their relationships and not now, and they would have been resolved  by this point. Especially with Big Mav as a dad. So, I'm calling flag on the field. 

**I am with a white man, I have two biracial babies. My dad always had something about white people. I did not go to a school that was dominantly white, but I was constantly the only black person around.  And before anyone thinks that you only date white guys cause that's all you're around, bull. It's a choice to date outside of your race-regardless of what your race is. It doesn't happen by accident, so you can't wake up one day and realize dude my boyfriend's white. Yes, there are some things that make the differences in race more apparent.  But I'm calling foul on Starr's sudden realization. **

As Starr deals with the loss of Khalil and with what the news is reporting about him, she is learnign that there is more to him than even she knew about. And she has to come to terms to that. At the same time the communities around her are reacting. Either by trying to figure how to deal with the anger and the hurt that they feel or by trying to get justice in a situation that is all too familiar to them. 

This is bringing to light so many things for Starr, not just with her community, but with her family and her fellow classmates. She is learning so much,  she is learning to use her voice but most importantly, she is joining the conversation. 

This book is powerful, not just because of the content of its pages. It is joining the conversation. It is lifting back the covers and giving the world an inside peek at how things really are -as much as  a work of fiction can. The Hate U Give acts as a window into Starr's story that is at once all to familiar and completely foreign-depending on a reader's own experiences.  Thomas does an amazing job in creating characters that are real and emotionally authentic.  She has taken a situation that is in itself already complex and controversial and pulled back to give 360• view of it. There's surprises. there's humor and there's truth. Truth about the pain, the anger and the feeling of being lost in your own world. 

Reviewed: 2018-07-24

You need to read this book. I waited too long to read this book. When everyone first started talking about it, no one really said what it was about. I mean, obviously it was about racism, and I put it on my to-read list when one of my coworkers said it was important.... but I finally started going to the library again and still had to put a hold on it in order to get my hands on it. So, I should have read it sooner because I need everyone else to read it to. I know I have this connected to facebook- yep, I'm breaking that 4th wall- and I need you to read this book if you haven't already. I don't care what kind of books you normally read or how long you have to wait until for your hold to come in at the library- YOU, my friends and family on Facebook, need to read this book. It is that important. It is also exceptionally well-written, captivating, and all the other words the critics have used to describe it. But it is also important. This book is why books are important. And everything in this book is true. Don't try to let yourself slide into believing that this stuff is exaggerated or "only one side of the story" or anything else. This book speaks only Truth, and I know it because I work in a community only slightly less violent than this. There have been instances of gang violence at school events. One of my students wrote an essay for class about the work they did to bring justice to her cousin- a 14 year old boy, shot dead through a vehicle that was driving away from a party in Dallas. My students make jokes about how many Black cards I have and they and my coworkers explain things to me that I don't understand. So if you don't believe it from what you see Black people saying online, than believe it from me: this book speaks Truth that you need to hear. Read it. Read it and stop feeding the The Hate that they are given.

Reviewed: 2018-04-24

Pretty good. I read it more for the relavent issue than the actual book. There was nothing exceptionally bad about the book, but there was also nothing about it that moved me. I did like it when Starr and Maya called Hailey out for her racism. 

Reviewed: 2017-09-22
This is probably one of the most important books, written for our current generation of readers. This book could be about anyone from Trayvon Martin to Sandra Bland. If you want to see another reason why books like this are important take a look at the one star reviews. I could barely stomach some of them, people who say they read this book but still missed the whole message. The characters are real, the story is real, the words and phrases and plot may be strange to some, but to others this is their everyday life in written form. I experienced such a wide range of emotions while reading this, I could be devastated by one page and turn to the next and and start laughing(those Harry Potter Jokes) I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. It’s important and it’s beautifully written, great debut novel for Angie Thomas ❤️
Item Posts
@fernweh
@fernweh completed #hateugivethe... on 2019-04-04
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 began #hateugivethe... on 2019-01-20
@sadies
@sadies began #hateugivethe... on 2019-01-18
@hbrazel
@hbrazel completed #hateugivethe... on 2019-01-07
@rosnovsky
@rosnovsky completed #hateugivethe... on 2018-06-23
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #hateugivethe... on 2018-10-26
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #hateugivethe... on 2018-10-13
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #hateugivethe... on 2018-10-05
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #hateugivethe... on 2018-10-06
@schaves
@schaves completed #hateugivethe... on 2018-09-30
@samraquel
@samraquel completed #hateugivethe... on 2018-09-26
@samraquel
@samraquel began #hateugivethe... on 2018-09-25
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #hateugivethe... on 2017-11-19
@fireflyslocket
@fireflyslocket completed #hateugivethe... on 2018-08-25
@aghteaching
@aghteaching completed #hateugivethe... on 2017-08-27