Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1), The

Rick Riordan
Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book One: Lightning Thief, The

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-01-15
So far, I really like this. It's exciting and easy to read. I like the hero...hope it continues to keep my attention.

Great book! Would rate 5 stars except the main character is a boy. :-) Thank goodness for Annabeth.
Reviewed: 2018-07-25
Hah!
Reviewed: 2018-04-13
This book was passed along to me by my 14 year old, as we tend to share an interest in the Young Adult Fantasy series. I was not overly impressed by the writing style of this particular author and it took me a bit longer to finish than usual.

However, I found the storyline to be pleasing and would probably continue reading the series, but this would likely be a filler between books for me.

I should also add that I did recently see the movie as well, and was not disappointed in the changes made; the characters were likeable, and the effects met my expectations. This is one of the rare occasions in which I found the movie to surpass the book.
Reviewed: 2017-09-10

If you've just seen the movie, forget everything you think you know about this series. The book and the movie are nothing alike. The book is so much better. I'm a big fan of this series, and this is a great first book.

Reviewed: 2017-01-02
Enjoyable read. I have always been fascinated by Greek and Roman mythology and really liked the concept of the gods being thrown out by a new set of gods.

Riordan has an enjoyable voice in Percy Jackson, the main character of the story. There are plenty of comparisons to Harry Potter, but honestly I don't think it's fair for anyone to say it's a "ripoff" in any sort of sense. I thought Riordan did a good job in making Percy's world relatable, which is good considering he is not cocooned in a magical/mythical world like Harry Potter is. There is a little of "First we did X and then went to place Y and talked to person Z", but overall I thought it was pretty good and is is right for the age group it is written for.

I am not without some quibbles though. There seems to be a bit in popular culture lately of making those who are "different" (in this case, dyslexic and with ADHD in Percy's case) to be with superpowers. I felt uncomfortable with Riordan's mentions that the ADHD serves Percy and those like him well in battle. If Riordan had gone into how the ADHD plus Percy's heritage would serve, then I would believe it a little more.

I also found Riodan's explanation that this being the "Age of the West" silly and full of colonialism/imperialism. Other than that, though, I enjoyed this overall.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I loved this book. I really love mythology and ancient Greece and stories about heroes and gods and mythical beings. I loved A Midsummer Night's Dream for its links to mythology and fairies, etc. I love the Playstation game God of War because of the mythology. (Although loving mythology is not the only reason to play this series of games. If you haven't played it or GOW2, go rent them. Now. Shoo! Then report back to me on how destressed but addicted you are and how AWESOME the game is! I'll wait. There, wasn't that fun? Anyway, sorry... back to the review now.)

Anyway. I love mythology, although I wouldn't call myself a "scholar" or anything. I tend to lean toward the more entertaining aspects of the subject rather than the dry dates and facts and figures. Which is one of the major reasons I loved this book. Riordan took ancient mythology and modernized it and made it fun and cool. And even educational, in a "What?! Ares rides a Harley?? WICKED! I wanna know more about that dude!" kind of way.

It seems that everyone who has read this book says it's great, but then makes sure to say that it is for "younger readers". I don't get what this is supposed to mean. Yes, the target audience is probably 10-12 year olds, but so were the first couple Harry Potter books. That's the great thing about young adult books, they are fun for all ages. These books, and I'm going to claim this for the entire series, even though I have only just started it, have quite a lot of adult references. I mean, if you think about it, here you have an entire series of books with an illegitimate demigod bastard as a main character. This main character then finds himself in a camp solely in existence for other bastard children of the gods. And how did these kids come into being? Why, Mama goddess or papa god was bored and decided to have a little afternoon delight with a mortal, and then they run back off to Olympus, abandoning the mortal and the baby resulting from the one-night of unwrapped lovin'. (But I guess if you're a god, piddly little diseases like herpes don't worry you at all!) And if that's not an adult theme, I don't know what is.

But that's not to say I didn't like the book. I did. I loved it, I couldn't put it down. I wanted to know more about Percy and Grover (who I'm fairly certain is NOT gone for good) and Annabeth and Luke and Poseidon and everyone else. I can't wait to start the next book and see where we go. And if that makes me a 10 year old again, well, then so be it. Last one to finish the series is a rotten egg! ;)
Item Posts
@mlarson
@mlarson completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2016-05-29
@jacademic
@jacademic completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-11-19
@jacademic
@jacademic began #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-11-19
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #lightningthiefth... on 2017-08-31
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #lightningthiefth... on 2017-08-25
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty completed #lightningthiefth... on 2013-12-26
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty began #lightningthiefth... on 2013-12-25
@albion
@albion completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2013-12-01
@albion
@albion began #lightningthiefpe... on 2013-12-01
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2017-08-26
@emilieb
@emilieb began #lightningthiefpe... on 2017-08-17
@shixam
@shixam completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-07-10
@shixam
@shixam began #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-07-09
@aiimee
@aiimee completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-06-20
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-03-01