#1 Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1 The Lightning Thief

Rick Riordan
Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can't seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy's mom finds out, she knows it's time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he'll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-05
Not as good as I remembered - there is a lot of dated/white man speak that reflects poorly on the characters (crippled? gangbangers?) and the pacing is totally wack. Lots of "somehow I just knew" explanations for things. The musical definitely elevates certain moments of the book - DOA Records is super random. Curious of the follow-ups are any better.
Reviewed: 2021-06-01
It took me a while of convincing before I decided to give this book a shot. It's not that i don't like Rick Riordan, it's just the fact the movie is not that awesome. It was good, but it wasn't good enough to leave craving for the book. And sure enough, just like any other books that were made as a movie, the book is a zillion percent better than the movie.

Rick Riordan has successfully mixed just the right amount of action, and humor to create a thoroughly enjoyable book. I love how Rick Riordan's writing style has managed to pull its readers out of this world, and sent them tumbling to the world of where gods and monsters exist.

Even the laziest readers are going to hold this book like they have never held a book before. Rick Riordan, has an absolute death grip onhis readers, and a taste of this series will leave you begging for more.
Reviewed: 2021-05-19
Meg picked it out at the bookstore, and after reading 2 or 3 pages on the spot, we were both hooked. I relegate most of our children's book reading to Meg's Goodreads account, this one is too good not to include on my own reading list. We read a chapter or two each night as a family, and Steve, Meg, and I all loved it.
Reviewed: 2021-04-14
It was okay. It really didn't make me want to see the movie.
Reviewed: 2020-11-21
I finally read it, overall it's above average. I had high hopes, so it was mildly entertaining.
Reviewed: 2020-06-29
I took a while to jump on the Percy Jackson bandwagon (until the final book was released), but I loved it! Full of Greek mythology and modern adventure, this is a must for anyone who loves mythology or heroic tales.
Reviewed: 2019-01-15
So far, I really like this. It's exciting and easy to read. I like the hero...hope it continues to keep my attention.

Great book! Would rate 5 stars except the main character is a boy. :-) Thank goodness for Annabeth.
Reviewed: 2018-07-25
Hah!
Reviewed: 2018-04-13
This book was passed along to me by my 14 year old, as we tend to share an interest in the Young Adult Fantasy series. I was not overly impressed by the writing style of this particular author and it took me a bit longer to finish than usual.

However, I found the storyline to be pleasing and would probably continue reading the series, but this would likely be a filler between books for me.

I should also add that I did recently see the movie as well, and was not disappointed in the changes made; the characters were likeable, and the effects met my expectations. This is one of the rare occasions in which I found the movie to surpass the book.
Item Posts
@elizabethkp
@elizabethkp began #lightningthiefpe... on 2021-01-06
@chibireads
@chibireads completed #lightningthiefth... on 2011-12-31
@chibireads
@chibireads began #lightningthiefth... on 2011-12-31
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #percyjacksonandt... on 2020-05-23
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #percyjacksonandt... on 2020-06-30
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2019-06-17
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #lightningthiefpe... on 2019-06-14
@mlarson
@mlarson completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2016-05-29
@jacademic
@jacademic completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-11-19
@jacademic
@jacademic began #lightningthiefpe... on 2018-11-19
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #lightningthiefth... on 2017-08-31
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper began #lightningthiefth... on 2017-08-25
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty completed #lightningthiefth... on 2013-12-26
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty began #lightningthiefth... on 2013-12-25
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #lightningthiefpe... on 2017-08-26