Golden Compass (His Dark Materials 1), The

Philip Pullman

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-30

This story is set in a parallel universe, where souls walk beside humans as animal spirits and they are called demons. I wasn't a fan of the characters. Lyra is the main character and I couldn't connect with her. I did like the fact of this story that animals talked and had some human-like characteristics. That did make this somewhat enjoyable and had me sticking with the story through to the end. Didn't like Mrs. Coulter or Lord Aseriel. This story ends on a cliff hanger and I won't be continuing. This story just was very slowly paced and the execution just felt off for me. I couldn't get immersed into this world and nothing about it, other than the animals, really stuck with me. This is a pass for me. 

Reviewed: 2021-07-05
Wonderful and imaginative start to the trilogy, pretty much loved every second of it. The religious themes don't seem as evident as in the later series and certainly aren't hitting you over the head during the entire novel. Fantastic world building of a great steampunk-ish world (zeppelins, language, weaponry, etc). Love love love the environment of the novels and the secondary characters. Will read again as a standalone novel. Rest of series is disappointing.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
3.99
Reviewed: 2021-01-10
I listened to the audiobook on a long drive this month. The audiobook version uses a full cast, which makes the audio version delightful to hear.
Reviewed: 2020-06-03

I like the elaborateness of the writing and the dark darkness of the events in a book supposedly for children. Panserbjørn are cool. The twists that all adults are evil and original sin is probably good are also cool. But overall it might have been slowed down by its own weighty writing. I struggled to pay attention sometimes while Asher read it aloud to me.

Reviewed: 2019-04-20
Some of the Christian theology in the last section threw me off, but I'm very curious to see where this story goes. Poor Lyra, she cannot catch a break!
Reviewed: 2019-01-12
to-read
Item Posts
@rottgrl88
@rottgrl88 completed #goldencompassthe... on 2021-07-29
@rottgrl88
@rottgrl88 began #goldencompassthe... on 2021-07-11
@spirit0
@spirit0 completed #goldencompasshis... on 2020-06-03
@spirit0
@spirit0 began #goldencompasshis... on 2019-11-18
@gosstucker
@gosstucker completed #goldencompass... on 2018-10-30
@gosstucker
@gosstucker began #goldencompass... on 2018-10-26
@bas
@bas completed #goldencompass... on 2017-10-25
@bas
@bas began #goldencompass... on 2017-10-13
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #goldencompass... on 2015-07-30
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #goldencompass... on 2015-07-26