American Gods (American Gods, #1)

Neil Gaiman
Paperback

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-05-27
For not being a fantasy OR mythology fan, this is really good.
Reviewed: 2019-11-21
A must-read for anyone who roadtrips the USA and especially the Upper Midwest.
Reviewed: 2019-01-14
This book was so good! A little long, but magical and lovely and it had some real beautiful moments that really changed me.
Reviewed: 2017-05-21

http://literally.scribd.com/home/2017/4/28/becoming-well-read-american-gods

I definitely think Neil Gaiman did NOT need to add back the 12k words he removed to make the "preferred" addition. The beginning was the best part. The middle/end was kind of a slog. But still very interesting.

Overall: Katniss Everdeen is still my god.

Reviewed: 2016-07-30
Did not finish this book. probably made a mistake getting the 'author's preferred text' which I feel is just self-indulgence. This book rambled, it included uninteresting and fruitless side tracks and it felt like it was trying much too hard. I get the feeling that maybe the editor's excellent advice was completely ignored by Gaiman.
Reviewed: 2015-10-31
I listened to this on audio, and it was fantastic.

The gist of this book is that when folks immigrated to the US, they brought their gods along with them. Then, as these immigrants assimilated into the American culture, their gods were abandoned. These gods, finding themselves unemployed, had to find jobs.

It's a great book, especially for those of us who worship no gods. It made me think, and it made me laugh. I really felt for Shadow, the protagonist of the story.

In many ways, this made me think of a Ingmar Bergman's writings. It'd make an awesome movie.
Gritty and in your face. Highly recommend it.
Item Posts
@spirit0
@spirit0 completed #americangodsamer... on 2017-05-21
@hardik0117
@hardik0117 completed #americangods... on 2017-05-08
@spirit0
@spirit0 began #americangodsamer... on 2017-04-23
@spirit0
@spirit0 began #americangodsamer... on 2017-04-22