Eclipse (The Twilight Saga, Book 3)

Stephenie Meyer
Readers captivated by Twilight and New Moon will eagerly devour Eclipse, the much anticipated third book in Stephenie Meyer's riveting vampire love saga. As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob --- knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-17
What pulls me in is Edward's selfless love for Bella. He knows how much she loves Jacob and doesn't stop her from being friends, even though Jacob's motives are underhanded.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description Readers captivated by Twilight and New Moon will eagerly devour Eclipse, the much anticipated third book in Stephenie Meyer's riveting vampire love saga. As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob --- knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?
Reviewed: 2017-05-28
I was actually reluctant to continue with this series. New Moon was an emotional nightmare ridden with drama!, angst, and Bella vegging out mentally because the love of her life pulled a Peter Parker on her; I was fostering a mild love/hate relationship with both Bella and Edward by the end of Books 2 (complete with eye rolls aplenty -- is that being too callous?), which made me question my determination to, as always, see a series through to the end.

But curiosity overrode my distaste, and I'm glad it did. While [b:New Moon|49041|New Moon (Twilight, #2)|Stephenie Meyer|https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1361039440s/49041.jpg|3203964] was not exactly my favorite book, after reading Eclipse, I understand why things had to be as they were: the blunders and emotionally-driven recklessness set the stage for further character growth and maturation. While the drama continues in this book (Bella officially completes a love triangle with her realization of her affections for Jacob in addition to those she has for Edward), we see Bella become more mature as she wrestles with and realizes the increasingly difficult and complicated decision of whether or not to become a vampire, a decision that looms before her inevitably like a coming storm; she also decides to see through her responsibilities for the sake of her family and friends. THANK GOODNESS, because that means Bella lets Alice plan a traditional wedding in lieu of the quick gig that Bella wanted in a Vegas love chapel. Needless to say, I'm totally excited about the upcoming nuptials, although I feel horrible for Jacob post-epilogue. But in situations like that, what can you do, right? It was her choice, and she chose Edward.

I also want to say that I'm happy to see that Stephenie Meyer's writing skills are improving. It's definitely more solid now, as opposed to being a wee shaky, with the bits of awkward prose that we find in the first two books; and we see her developing a better grasp on handling bittersweetness -- so key to the series, I think.

All in all, to conclude this rather long review, I was more or less satisfied with the book upon my reading it. Yeah, the Edward-Victoria showdown was a bit of a letdown (seriously, it totally sucks not having vampire vision in situations like that), and I'm surprised that Bella is not a vampire yet (the Volturi won't be pleased). But Eclipse won me back into the Twilight universe, and I'm eagerly awaiting [b:Breaking Dawn|1162543|Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4)|Stephenie Meyer|https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1361039438s/1162543.jpg|2960529], which should be coming out later this year?
Reviewed: 2016-01-16
As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob - knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?
Item Posts
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #twilightbook0000... on 2019-03-15
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #twilightbook0000... on 2019-03-10
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #twilightbook0000... on 2019-03-10
@books4ever
@books4ever completed #eclipsethetwilig... on 2018-04-11
@books4ever
@books4ever began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2018-03-24
@books4ever
@books4ever began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2018-03-24
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #eclipsethetwilig... on 2012-04-27
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2012-04-27
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2011-06-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #eclipsethetwilig... on 2011-06-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2009-12-01