Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4)

Stephenie Meyer
When you loved the one who was killing you, it left you no options. How could you run, how could you fight, when doing so would hurt that beloved one? If your life was all you had to give, how could you not give it? If it was someone you truly loved?To be irrevocably in love with a vampire is both fantasy and nightmare woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to werewolf Jacob Black, a tumultuous year of temptation, loss, and strife have led her to the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or to pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fates of two tribes hangs.Now that Bella has made her decision, a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating, and unfathomable, consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella's life-first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moon and Eclipse-seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed... forever?The astonishing, breathlessly anticipated conclusion to the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn illuminates the secrets and mysteries of this spellbinding romantic epic that has entranced millions.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-05-27
Not substantially different from the other books in the series. The writing is pretty terrible, but the plot is just interesting enough that I finished them.
Reviewed: 2018-06-28
Well that escalated quickly...
Reviewed: 2018-01-03
It's war! No, it's not. Wait, maybe....No. Let's talk it over. Everything cool? Cool.
Reviewed: 2016-01-16
To be irrevocably in love with a vampire is both fantasy and nightmare, woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to werewolf Jacob Black, she has endured a tumultuous year of temptation, loss, and strife to reach the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fate of two tribes hangs. Now Bella has made her decision, and a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating and unfathomable consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella's life - first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moon and Eclipse - seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed...forever?
Reviewed: 2009-07-17
So I finally finished the series. I had to take a break between Eclipse and Breaking Dawn because I disliked Eclipse so much, but hated the idea of not finishing the series. My thoughts on Breaking Dawn are- it’s the end, and that’s pretty much all I can say.
I’ll admit that in between picking up BD again, I read many, many reviews and I totally agree with most of them. She broke cannon and made this book a happy ending, which is fine, but the way she did so was horrible.
I had so many issues with the book I don’t know where to start:
1. 2000+ pages and no sex. I know it’s YA, but that part pissed me off. Pages and pages of sexual tension and all we get is the aftermath and some shredded pillows. That kind of ruined things for me there.
2. The whole pregnancy things was just off and misplaced
3. The whole anti-abortion plug was kind of annoying. I loved how two books ago (or a few months) she couldn’t fathom getting married and then she became all gung-ho about having a baby. I know things change when you get married, but with her previous shallowness and actions, I doubt we would get that from Bella.
4. I loved Jacob in New Moon and while it was refreshing to get a new perspective, the part from Jacob’s point of view annoyed me to no end. I began to dislike Jacob more and more as I continued reading

5. Reading the “packs” thoughts in italics was even more annoying than not getting any Vampire sex.
6. Renesemme= Fugly.
7. The imprinting- disturbing on so many levels and not just the pedophile label. I found the imprinting of Quil and Claire just as nasty. Earlier when Quil was “playing” with Claire in her two year old voice, I just wanted to vomit. Reading about Renesmee feeding off of Jacob gave me the same reaction. There was absolutely no reason to include such ridiculousness in this book.
8. I was very disappointed that it ended so “happy”. SO much was set up for this to be a great book/ending and then it just fell flat
9. It was a little boring and did not need to be 754 pages. It wasn’t worth it.
In the end, I finished and stand my by previous reviews. Twilight was the Best- New moon was Good and Eclipse is still one of the most G-d awful books I’ve ever read. Breaking Dawn comes pretty far ahead of Eclipse. It was ok- a sucky ending, like SM just wanted to finish the series, but it’s over. At least once the New Moon movie comes out, I can forget about the entire series.
Item Posts
@bjezerey
@bjezerey completed #breakingdawntwil... on 2008-08-09
@books4ever
@books4ever completed #breakingdawnthet... on 2018-04-17
@books4ever
@books4ever began #breakingdawnthet... on 2018-04-12
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #breakingdawnthet... on 2012-04-27
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #breakingdawnthet... on 2012-04-27
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #breakingdawnthet... on 2011-06-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #breakingdawnthet... on 2011-06-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #breakingdawnthet... on 2009-12-02
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #breakingdawnthet... on 2009-12-01