On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

Timothy Snyder
"We are rapidly ripening for fascism. This American writer leaves us with no illusions about ourselves." --Svetlana Alexievich, winner of the Nobel Prize in LiteratureThe Founding Fathers tried to protect us from the threat they knew, the tyranny that overcame ancient democracy. Today, our political order faces new threats, not unlike the totalitarianism of the twentieth century. We are no wiser than the Europeans who saw democracy yield to fascism, Nazism, or communism.  Our one advantage is that we might learn from their experience.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-01-19
I expected so much, but really it is a university professor saying "do things that I think are good" and "Trump sucks". I collected a couple of examples of silliness but I must have lost them.

At least it's short, can polish this off in an hour (no notes) or two (take some notes) - because there are good ideas in here.
Reviewed: 2021-01-10
Everyone should read this book and read it now.
Reviewed: 2019-06-20
Slim, but compelling book about what to look for concerning authoritarian government leaders. Do I think this book is biased? Yes, against those who would erode our democracy. Provides historical examples and concrete actions the average person can take.
Reviewed: 2019-01-16
Slim, but compelling book about what to look for concerning authoritarian government leaders. Do I think this book is biased? Yes, against those who would erode our democracy. Provides historical examples and concrete actions the average person can take.
Item Posts
@elliotdibble
@elliotdibble completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2020-12-12
@faramir
@faramir completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2020-02-21
@faramir
@faramir began #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2020-02-20
@ahelms
@ahelms completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2019-12-17
@ahelms
@ahelms began #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2019-12-17
@gdorney1
@gdorney1 completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2018-12-19
@gdorney1
@gdorney1 began #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2018-12-17
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2018-03-31
@greghundred
@greghundred completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-11-26
@greghundred
@greghundred began #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-11-25
@quiqsilvre
@quiqsilvre completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-08-06
@quiqsilvre
@quiqsilvre began #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-07-30
@jk
@jk completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-07-30
@jk
@jk began #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-07-28
@jdarden
@jdarden completed #ontyrannytwentyl... on 2017-03-18