Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Benjamin Alire Saenz
A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz.Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-01-08
I am a emotional wreck after reading this book! I think I felt every emotion possible as I read it. I cried, laughed, got sad, was happy. So many emotions in only 359 pages. I wasn’t even sure I was going to like this book. The first 50 pages had me feeling a little meh, but as I read, I fell in love with the characters and the story. And the writing style, while I didn’t like it at first, was essential to the story. It showed how the characters were developing. Overall, amazing characters and character development. A great plot and a beautiful story. I’m very happy to make this my first 5 star read of the year. Highly recommend!!
Reviewed: 2019-02-26
My BOOK OF THE YEAR! Why? I'll tell you why.

Firstly, the introductory portion of the book put bright smiles on my face. GENUINE smiles.
Secondly, I got foggy glasses after a long time. It was this emotional.
Thirdly, I LOVED THEIR PARENTS! They were beyond normal. In an unbelievably positive way.
Fourthly, I was able to put myself perfectly into the MCs' minds. And the literary references were magnificent.
Lastly, even though I had a life and death entrance exam the very next day, I couldn't help but read it in one go. A fascinating read indeed.

I'm so glad to be able to read such a masterpiece this year. A work of art, truly.
Reviewed: 2019-01-14
UGHH THIS IS SO GOOD. I finished it in two days and it made me cry happy tears and want to fall in love.
Reviewed: 2018-09-28
4.5 stars!

What to say about a book that totally beat me up emotionally? This is just a beautiful book of discovery, acceptance and love, with every single character portrayed in such a rich and poignant way. I am just not sure what else to say. ^-^

Just a lovely read with my friend Andrew.
Reviewed: 2018-03-22
I have never shipped so hard
Reviewed: 2018-01-06
I was warned that this book would make me ugly cry, but I thought "Sure, a young adult book is going to tear me open and jump on my heart.  Sure."

Dammit, I ugly cried.

This is a strange little love story about two teenage boys who seem to be so different that you have to wonder how they are even friends. And yet it's clear that from the beginning there's something between them, some understanding that goes far beyond ordinary friendship. Ari and Dante complete each other. The love they have for each other brings their families together, and helps Ari's family to heal from the blows life has dealt them.

Their love is magical.

I listened to the audiobook which was narrated by Lin-Manuel Miranda, and he made the characters glow with life. They were so real that as angry as I was with Ari much of the time, my heart broke for him too. As frustrated as I was with his parents, I understood their inability to confront their past. And as odd as I initially found Dante's parents, I  came to love them.  These characters are fully developed, and in spite of their flaws, they are loveable. 

I'm not a huge fan of YA literature, but this book made me wonder if I haven't been too stand-offish about it.  If this is the stuff kids read these days, then I'm in.  And I'm thrilled to know that the author is writing a sequel.
Reviewed: 2016-12-30
This book is perfection
Item Posts
@ricbre
@ricbre completed #aristotleanddant... on 2014-08-01
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #aristotleanddant... on 2020-01-07
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #aristotleanddant... on 2015-01-29
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #aristotleanddant... on 2015-01-29
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #aristotleanddant... on 2015-12-29
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary completed #aristotleanddant... on 2014-12-29
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #aristotleanddant... on 2015-01-29
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #aristotleanddant... on 2016-02-21
@buzzy12
@buzzy12 completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-12-18
@callidoralblack
@callidoralblack completed #aristotleanddant... on 2015-06-02
@callidoralblack
@callidoralblack began #aristotleanddant... on 2015-05-30
@morganp
@morganp completed #aristotleanddant... on 2015-04-18