Tell Me Three Things

Julie Buxbaum
A New York Times Bestseller “Here are three things about this book: (1) It’s . . .  funny and romantic; (2) the mystery at the heart of the story will keep you turning the pages; (3) I have a feeling you’ll be very happy you read it.” —Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight With the perfect mix of comedy and tragedy, love and loss, and pain and elation, the characters in Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things come to feel like old friends who make any day better. This YA novel is sure to appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart. Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son, and to start at a new school where she knows no one.Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved? More praise for TELL ME THREE THINGS “Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum’s book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page  “The desire to find out whether Jessie’s real-life and virtual crushes are one and the same will keep [readers] turning the pages as quickly as possible.” —PW, Starred“A heartfelt, wryly perceptive account of coming to terms with irrevocable loss when life itself means inevitable change.” —Kirkus“Buxbaum’s debut is hard to put down because of its smooth and captivating text. The addition of virtual conversations through email and chatting adds to the exciting plot twist.” —SLJ

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-07-05

Tell Me Three Things is the story of Jessie, whose mother has died and her father has remarried.  They move from Chicago, where everything is familiar, to Los Angeles, which feels to Jessie like another world.  When she starts her new school, Jessie finds that she doesn't fit in at all until she starts getting e-mails from someone calling himself Somebody/Nobody (SN for short).  SN goes to her school and offers to help her navigate through the new school blues.  Jessie finds herself getting closer to SN and wants to know who he is, but he refuses to tell her.  Life becomes more and more difficult as Jessie antagonizes the popular girls in the school and becomes an outcast.

This is a wonderful story of learning to accept what can't be changed but standing up for yourself and changing what you can.  Jessie's voice is easily identifiable as she navigates through life in an unfamiliar house and school, gets to know her stepmother and stepbrother, and finds her own way.  I really liked this story but I would suggest reading it with some tissues handy.

Item Posts
@mrslabraden
@mrslabraden completed #tellmethreething... on 2016-05-22
@mrslabraden
@mrslabraden began #tellmethreething... on 2016-05-22
@lillymarie16
@lillymarie16 completed #tellmethreething... on 2018-04-17